Ode from a Cult Member

If you know Trader Joe’s grocers, then you’ll likely be able to relate to this one. I’ve taken an old folk song, Shady Grove, and rewritten the lyrics to accommodate a different obsession. I’d recommend listening to a take on the original song first, so you’ve got the melody in your head as you read this. Grant me some leniency with rhythm and syllable counts, and this should be a fun one (I plan to revisit and revise, eventually). So here’s #14:

Trader Joe’s

Sweet tea in the summertime
Cider in the fall
If I can’t shop at the place I love
Then I won’t shop at all

Trader Joe’s
My little love
Trader Joe’s, I know
Trader Joe’s
My little love
I’m bound for Trader Joe’s

I can’t believe such quality
Is sold at such low prices
I’ll get my kale (and a pint of ale)
My virtues and my vices

Trader Joe’s
No GMOs
Trader Joe’s, I know
On a shopping spree
For gluten free
I’m bound for Trader Joe’s

Listen well, gonna ring that bell
For all my heart’s desires
It’s no tall tale, for in the mail
I got my Fearless Flyer

Trader Joe’s
My little love
Trader Joe’s, I know
Gonna try my luck
On a Two-Buck Chuck
I’m bound for Trader Joe’s

Some come here for the wine and beer
Some just stare and stutter
Some come here for the plain kefir
―I’m here for the cookie butter

Trader Joe’s
Is where I go
Trader Joe’s, I know
Trader Joe’s
From start to close
I’m bound for Trader Joe’s

In my fist, got a grocery list
Just ten things, I swore
But by the time I reach that line
I’ve bought the whole damn store

Trader Joe’s
It’s you I’ve chose
Trader Joe’s, I know
Trader Joe’s
Gonna need some of those
I’m bound for Trader Joe’s

Trader Joe’s
Oh my love
Trader Joe’s, I know
Trader Joe’s
My little love
I’m bound for Trader Joe’s

2 thoughts on “Ode from a Cult Member

  1. Pingback: Kayla | A Life with Limits

Leave a Reply

