Musings

Day 4, albeit a bit late:

I figured that a Saturday off work would offer me time enough to cross at least a couple poems off the list, but alas, here we are at Sunday, and I’m one behind.

The first few lines on the page were homeless thoughts looking for expression. Before I started recording my poems in this journal, I hadn’t realized that such thoughts made lasting impressions in my mind, but I think the poem that I finally arrived at wouldn’t have manifested as easily without them, even though it’s completely independent (as far as my conscious mind is concerned.) So having said that, if you find yourself suffering from writer’s block or maybe simply searching for some inspiration, just start writing things down, whatever comes to mind, and even if the literature that follows is totally unrelated, you’ll have at least moved your gray matter around.

Draft:

lune variation

As a note, I decided to modify the lune form, wherein one interpretation suggests a haiku-esque structure of three lines, the first with three words, second with five words, and last with three again. I continued a theme through three such stanzas, arriving at my fourth poem for the month:

One, two words
on the page might be
all it takes

but the mind
wants dozens and won’t settle
for the heart

so she beats
and fingers glide across parchment
ending up somewhere.

2 thoughts on “Musings

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one whose NaPoWriMo day slipped into the wee hours of the next. Thankfully, I’m writing tiny tanka this year, so I can avoid slipping into the void completely.

    I’m enjoying your scribblings and love your hair! J πŸ™‚

    • Haha, thanks for the compliment – I’m glad to see that my profile photo does the hair at least some justice ^-^ I’m quite enjoying your own posts myself! I’ll have to look into the tanka, especially considering its accessible length for busier days πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

