Cold-blooded, Warm-hearted

I’m finally returning to NaPoWriMo’s prompts, borrowing from Day 19’s suggestion to write a landay, a form with which I’ve never experimented, though this counts as poem number 18.

Draft:

cold

.

The other side of exotic told
the seasons of peace, and beauty was found in the cold.

.

At work, I spend more than my fair share of time in the freezer, but somehow the cold is always comforting, and these last two winters in Buffalo have given me a new appreciation for winter.

I like the landay’s syllabic breakdown, and the form’s brevity. As I continue to explore different poetic forms, I think the shorter, stricter ones offer better opportunities to pack the most poignant punches with fewer words — lunes, haiku, tanka, etc. In brief, most forms of Eastern-inspired poetry, it would seem…

Leave a Reply

