Grayscale

Though I’d normally shy from ending the month with more somber and depressing verse, I impressed myself with the readability of this villanelle, which I wrote backward as per NaPoWriMo’s daily prompt – an interesting challenge, for sure, and a method I plan to return to. Precisely where the morose theme came from, I cannot tell — yes, I have faced loss and grief in my life, but I feel that this piece came from deeper inspiration than I can know. Here’s the draft again, if you missed it in the last post:

ocean and vilanelle

Number 30, final cut:

.

I’d join my hands and close my eyes to pray
with prideful words, redundant and naive,
if I could see the other side of gray.

But in your heart was all that I could say,
and so I’m left with faded ghosts to grieve.
I’d join my hands and close my eyes to pray

before the Fates could tear your thread away;
I might have spun the colors dreamers weave
if I could see the other side of gray.

Such grief would see my old convictions stray:
I’d put more trust in what I once believed;
I’d join my hands and close my eyes to pray

and lay my heart upon the Healer’s way–
if only you would grant me such reprieve,
if I could see the other side of gray.

A setting sun returns the night from day,
for in the end, when souls are wont to leave,
I’d join my hands and close my eyes to pray–
if I could see the other side of gray.

Leave a Reply

