The Sensuous Sublime

Day 5, as per NaPo’s optional prompt “to write a poem that is based in the natural world: it could be about a particular plant, animal, or a particular landscape… that you have personally experienced and optimally, one that you have experienced often.” (Though I lament that I don’t have this experience nearly often enough!)

Journal draft (outlined in red, though the remainder of the scribbles were also relevant to its development):

sublime1

sublime2

The final iteration:

 

My blood is warm and willful
beneath the falling rain:
the rivers deep within my skin
flow fast and free again.

My heavy, sodden clothing
invites me to the earth;
I lift my face toward the clouds
to bathe in my rebirth.

The scent of loam and verdure
are dancing on the air;
I breathe into the atmosphere
a silent, wordless prayer.

The elements surround me
and waken through the storm
the anima within my flesh
in her immortal form:

I see beyond the rainfall
behind my shuttered eyes;
I rise into the dampened ground
and sink below the skies;

I sing into the tempest
with neither tongue nor voice;
I choose to be and not to be
with neither fate nor choice.

I linger in this moment
outside the veil of time
conversing with the living storm,
the sensuous sublime.

 

I might add some more discussion to this one tomorrow, but for starters, if it’s not evident, I was very meticulous with the metrical structure of this poem, and paid fair attention to a consistent rhyme scheme.

Leave a Reply

